Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest chrisfrenchntu

"furniture And Product Design Has No Value In Today's Society"

Guest chrisfrenchntu

I'm a student at Nottingham Trent University, UK and I have been given this statement as a stimulus for debate. It would be great to hear anyone's reaction and response to the statement. Many thanks.

Guest csven

Depends on how one defines "Design" and perceives "Value". That sentence alone isn't enough to do anything other than generate a wildly varied and probably inconsequential discussion, since both words are open to broad interpretation and the result will likely be confusion. Set some guidelines and then see how the debate proceeds.

Guest freximus

Definitely an incendiary topic.

Taking the statement at its most superficial level, "Something has no value in today's society", is already invalid as a statement for debate, unless we are all in agreement that debate has no value. :)

That being said, the word design is a synonym of creation with slight tilt towards beauty, function, worth, improvement, etc. Each characteristic I've listed are words that supposedly add value in some form.

Therefore if we reduce or restate the title "Creation, with the intention of adding some value, has no value in today's society", we might conclude that this is a tough debate topic to prove.

Ultimately, I guess the only place where the statement could be true is heaven, where everything is perfect already.

Guest posty

Why today's society? What is significantly different today, that suggests they have no value?

I don't believe there has been a significant enough change to suggest that the value of product design differs from 50 years ago? Everyone still likes a comfortable chair? Perhaps we have too many chairs, so certain furtniture design's have lost there value...

Guest Skint