Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest unhappymaiden04

My Sketching Skills Suck Pls Help

Guest unhappymaiden04

Ok,I can sketch...but the thing is,when I start to sketch bags (I'm a handbag designer by the way) I get so stressed out and disappointed.The results are a mess,and I think that my perspectives are way blown out of proportion.I keep on comparing my sketches to other artists' sketches,particularly the previous artist who designed the same brand I am designing right now.Maybe because people here at the office kept on telling me how good she was,and this and that.I mean,it's not jealousy or something,but lately I found myself trying to live up to the comparison.I caught myself trying too hard to surpass her designs to the point that I felt I lost my own style and creativity along the way.It just saddens me that I almost cannot produce productive and creative designs unlike when I was in college,wherein I was able to release and execute my creative ideas to the fullest extent possible...:( I felt so left out and unoriginal. I cannot do designs without looking at her past works and comparing them to my own...it's just so bad.I love my work and I really want to do some good handbag sketches...I just felt that there's something preventing me from doing it.Please help...I would really appreciate it.

By the way, I am posting my sketch here.Please critique them guys (just don't be too harsh :() Constructive criticisms are most welcome.

note: these sketches are my best so far. :( I have traced the perspective from the other artists' sketches.

--------------------------

Ok I have added some of my recent computer drawings of my recent handbag designs.The gray colors represent the metallic leather trimmings.I will be using a red or brown printed fabric,sorry the scanner isn't working so I wasn't able to put up a picture of the actual fabric.The fabric is a printed canvas by the way. ;)

post-24005-1220689347.jpg