Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest unhappymaiden04

Is Tracing Bad?

Guest unhappymaiden04

hey guys! I am a newbie product designer (handbag designer) for a teens' bag brand. Just wanna ask if tracing in illustrator is ok,cuz I have done it so many times...especially when time is scarce and I was required to produce lots of designs,what I do is trace then incorporate my own style...is this bad? I can draw on the computer myself,but the results depend on my mood for that particular day...if I'm inspired,I can draw bags directly from the computer,also if there's no time pressure. I am required to produce 16 different designs of bags everyday...and everytime I'm under time pressure,I trace. Is it a bad thing?please give me some advice...thanks a lot.

I guess it depends on how you use tracing. Many use tracing just to get the right proportions and shape or perspective. And it is quite normal to trace your own designs.

However if you trace, as in copy, other peoples designs I personally don't think it's okay - no matter whatever time pressure you may be under. Unless of course it's another person within the company who designed the original.

If for instance you traced a D&G handbag and made it just with another pattern, I would almost consider it stealing, if the original designer isn't credited.

But to sum it up - It very much depends on how you use tracing.

/tbroen

Guest Skint

I agree with tbroen. Tracing can be used to increase your sketching skills... nothing wrong with that. Copying a design is where you will be going wrong if thats what you are doing...firstly because you could get into trouble from it.. and secondly.. your not learning anything or designing your own style, wheres the fun in that ?

If you want to incorporate someone elses design into yours then thats ok too... but ask thier permission first.

Guest unhappymaiden04