- - - - -

Handbag Design Inspiration -pls Help!

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_unhappymaiden04_*

Guest_unhappymaiden04_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 July 2008 - 10:20 AM

hey guys!I'm kinda new here,I am a budding product designer...and this site has opened my eyes to a broader understanding of the design field.There's just one thing that bothers me a lot though- how do I get to develop handbag designs from other things?example,from shoes or clothing? I know,that I may sound stupid for asking this question,but my course back in college didn't taught me how to develop products (I am a graphic arts and printing major)...I feel kinda envious for other designers who can develop designs from simple things... :(

I wish you guys would help me out...I will really appreciate it... :oops:

#2 Guest_Nephtis_*

Guest_Nephtis_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 July 2008 - 11:07 AM

1. I would start by letting everything you know about handbags in general go.

2. Write down what a handbag should do, do research if neccesary (for instance, should it be light, carry small items, large items, should items in the handbag be easily accessed, do I need special pockets for specific items? In general, what are the functions your product should have.

3. The next step could vary depending on the extensiveness of your research, I personally like to start by finding several kinds of different products, objects, things (living or otherwise) that aren't related to the product start thinking about how I could use this shape, sollution, design to make a handbag which incorporates the above named features. Try to be critical of your own work and that of others, if you see something you aren't happy with, work on it to make it the best you can. The same goes for reviewing inspiration, don't just look at the sollution an inspirational source delivers, try to find stuff that is wrong with it and make it better.