Looking To Get Into Industrial Design

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_iMagxz_*

Guest_iMagxz_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 June 2008 - 09:32 PM

Hello everyone,
I am a recent high school graduate from US,Florida. I've been pondering on the idea of getting into industrial design for some time and but I'm very confused, i hope someone can help me.

My original plan was to go to a nearby community college for general education credits then transfer to a university for mechanical engineering major but i realized that this wasn't totally me. I want some of what i love in my career, art. From what i've found out so far, i would really like to get my foot into industrial design, badly.

The problem is, i dont know what colleges/universities educate in industrial design. I thought about getting the Bachelor of Science from The Art Institutes:Fort Lauderdale because i can transfer there with some general education classes that i was going to take at my community college. I would've really like to stay here ( Pinellas county) and attend SPC (our community college turned junior college), and take classes that can transfer, but i am very confused.

Please , someone , some clarification on the education process for industrial design?
Thank you

#2 Cyberdemon

Cyberdemon

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,709 posts
  • At:Motorola Solutions

Posted 09 June 2008 - 10:39 PM

Visit www.idsa.org for a list of schools.

Florida doesn't have much to offer (The Fort Lauderdale program is still very young) but consider schools like SCAD, Georgia Tech and Auburn. All are within a reasonable driving distance and have very solid programs. If you want to venture further there are plenty of other schools worthy of consideration.