Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest simpson

Aliasstudio

Guest simpson

Hey, i've got this made in AliasStudio.

lines.jpg

The thing is that i need some help surfacing this shape :/

rail surface produces strange results, but i have a theory that this has something to do with so many cross sections.

but if i use less i won't be able to get the shape that i desire :(

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Guest simpson

oh, and since i'm new to studiotools it'd be cool if someone with more experience could give some tips on creating such a form. I know there's more that one way to achieve the right results, so it would be cool if someone could share their technique.

Revolve a simple curve with that basic shape around your X axis. Manually manipulate the CV's making sure to keep your hulls planar to keep the shape nice and tidy. Insert isoparms when necessary to increase the complexity of the surface till you can reach that shape. Since you already have the curves in place you can use them as guides to align your surface to.

Check out the tutorial I posted it shows a similar tactic of starting with a simple shape and adding as few isoparms as necessary to tune the shape. If you start with lots of cross sections you wind up with more complexity than you probably need.

Guest simpson

start.jpg

Started with one half of a cylinder.

and just out of curiosity, how do you add isoparms? is there some simple way?

Sorry it that's too simple, but i've watched several tutorials and read a few too, but couldn't find a similar modeling technique in aliasstudio.

I've used max before so this is something like box modeling? am i right?

Edit: and by the way, maybe this will turn out into something that will be useful for others who are starting working with alias too.

Don't start with a Cylinder, that technique might've worked in Max but its not appropriate here.