Portfolio...any Thoughts?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Andrew Austin_*

Guest_Andrew Austin_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 March 2008 - 11:26 PM

Hey guys,

Would appreciate comments and feedback on my mini folio, im a second year student and applying for placements this coming summer!

Portfolio

#2 Guest_Lilith_*

Guest_Lilith_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 April 2008 - 10:12 AM

hey your portfolio is amazing :clapping: i love the management of your layouts, some people just get it overdone but your layouts look just perfect, no more no less ! great job !

#3 Guest_Andrew Austin_*

Guest_Andrew Austin_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 April 2008 - 12:51 PM

Thanks! nice to know it has potential, I get mixed views from my lecturers which is why I posted topic.

I like your site, very easy to navigate, good sketches too. :)

#4 Guest_lufbrasketch_*

Guest_lufbrasketch_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 April 2008 - 11:27 PM

I think the body of work is good, but what you need to do more is emphasise your degree choice, BA or BSc. From your work I can't really tell immediately which route you have taken.

My advice is that if you are doing BA show loads more human-factors related stuff. This doesn't neccessarily mean sammie work or ergonomics or even styling! But things like user research, any ethnography studied, semantics for users/ or products (like you did).
You can still use your mechanical products done in the first year in a clever way if you are a BA student. Concentrate on showing how, from your research, you had to create this product to meet user needs and to create the product you had to design this mechanism etc...As a BA student myself that is what I do and that is what I have been told I should do from people in industry who look to employ BA graduates.