Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest terminatoronly

Shall I Get A Wacom Or Etc?

Guest terminatoronly

Hello All,

I Am new to this forum, and i like it i saw few tutorials they are really great you people did a great job, and i am in a need for your advice, i am a graphic design student , this is my second year and we will start using photoshop and illustrator this semester so i heared much about wacom tablet and (Graphics tablets) in general i saw some work done by those graphic tablets and they are really cool, i am thinking of getting one but in here they don't sell wacom they sell Genius tablets not wacom's and i don't live in USA or UK to get a wacom i live in Jordan (Asia) please tell me shall i get a Genius tablet or what do you think?

please if someone has expereience with Genius graphic tablets i will be very thankful for your suggestion also for all other people.

Thanks

I would see if you can get a Wacom from an online store that ships internationally (or possibly Ebay) - if you don't have a choice then theres no point in asking, but the Wacom tablets are far superior, and thats why they're the industry standard.

Guest terminatoronly

hi mate,

thank you , yeah i asked a friend too , he lives near my country he will ask there today.

btw which size do you guys recommend?

Guest P3NGU1N

I have a wide screen monitor and I felt the 6x11 was too wide =\. I switched over to a 6x8 and I love it. I got the 6x8 intuos3 on ebay for $170, however, that's a very rare case. The retail is $320, though, you can usually find them on ebay for about $290. (All prices are in U.S. Dollars)

A 6x8 Tablet means you'll be losing a good amount of space on the top and bottom if you have the active area constrained to the proper aspect ratio...means you'll be stuck with something closer to ~5x8" though the 6x11 is a bit awkward too if you're on a 16:10 screen vs a 16:9 screen - but you still have more room.