Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest RoadMaster

Final Year Engineering Project

Guest RoadMaster

Hello pple,

Unfortunately was long time I go that I post something here, and was a question about SW.

Today is different, I designed a wheel in carbon fibre to be used in the Formula Student. It will be my final year project of my course.

I'm not an Artist as many of you. But I love to see many of the stuff in this forum that I regularly check.

Please feel free to criticize.

(the design was made using CATIA V5 and hypershot for rendering)

post-7701-1187727275.jpg

post-7701-1187727587.jpg

Guest ED08

Nice! It is hard to do wheels that are tasteful, not over designed, good proportions and from a marketing point of view able to go on many cars. In my opinion you have succeeded in this. EG - ID guy.

Guest kcraik

i love the use of the HDRI image as reflections on the rim.

only 1 crit tho...try turning of the reflections of the floor in the grass image. (grass doesnt have a shiny, flat and highly polished surface)

Guest petit-singe

What your rim doing in this meadow without its tyre at least?

No, just to say that you'd better render it in a showroom or studio, I think. Or outside, but mounted on a car, in situ.

++

Guest iliffe

I know your not a design student however it looks like youve got alot of knowledge is 3d modeling and rendering software.

The thing that is bugging me is the top render in the fact that the grass in the foreground of the picture is blurred when the wheel is crisp. surely the front grass would be as crisp as the wheel render?.

Also take the comment in about the relflection and how it would not happen.

A nice rim design though its nice to see that youve steered away from having bits and bolts everywere creating a tacky looking wheel.

Good stuff chap.

Lew.

Guest kaiza

for an engineer you're not a bad designer :P