Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest mr.sorbet

Wheely Bins

Guest mr.sorbet

Hi all, this is my first submission so bear with me.

I'm a student about to start my A2 level course and have been thinking about products to design. We have a completely free lease which of course makes things even harder, but i have decided i would like to do something around wheely bins.

My original idea was based on the new government initiatives to have a 2 week turn around on rubbish and also that the public may have to pay for their rubbish. The amount they pay would be based on the amount their rubbish weighed. I thought maybe there is a product here, firstly i thought people might want to be able to keep track of how much their wheely bin weighed, without having to take out some scales. So i was thinking about a bin with inbuilt scales and LCD screen to inform people how much their bin weighed.

I'm still considering the above as a possibility but i have had more ideas that could be better. I also realised as will have many other people that if we are paying for our rubbish, some people will start fly-tipping into other peoples bins. Obviously we don't want to have to pay for other people's rubbish so i thought maybe bins could do with a locking mechanism. Again i thought you could simply modify an existing bin, adding a locking device controlled via remoted control that could attach to your keyring. The device could be bought from the wheely bin company that keep a register of the code and serial number of your bin. So that when the bin men come round their cart could have a scanner which recognises your serial number and sends the appropriate code to open the bin.