Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Daan

Extreme Modelling In Solidworks - Ouch!

Guest Daan

Hi! I'm a Solidworks teacher from the Netherlands. I've come up with the idea to let students model real, curvy products. Thing is, some products are really hard to model. Like this shaver: the way the surfaces flow into each other, with perfect continuity. Would anyone like to take a stab at modelling this? Just the top-left side, that's the most difficult part.

shaver_martin.jpg

Here you can find a SW file with pictures in it. The side view picture is a bit off, but it will help to get the approximate curves. I'm really curious to see if anyone can model something like this!

Please note that we use SW 2006.

Bye, Daan

Hello Dan,

What you might want to do is take a look at some of these tutorials on here that have some amazing surfacing techniques. Also here are a few web sites that have models that students can down load, roll through the history, and see exactly how it was made. There is SOOOOO much that they can learn by just rolling through the history.

• www.mikejwilson.com - Great models to look through

• www.zxys.com/swparts - Great models to look through

• www.dimontegroup.com - excellent power points that explain a lot of what is going on behind the scene in the program

hope this helps

Guest Daan

Thanks Cadjunkie, but I already read all of Ed Eatons presentations (very helpfull!) and checked all of the models.

Guest mcgreg

Is this what you mean?!

post-7300-1173387438.jpg

Simple render with now tweaking. Just assigned materials and rendered.

Guest mcgreg

Nice!! Could you show how you did it?!

EDIT: Nevermind! I already saw it on your website! :)

Guest Daan

zxys, that looks great! Thanks, it's VERY interesting to see someone else model something I did too. I'm going to study your model thoroughly. Here's my attempt at (a piece of) the shaver:

http://www.it.fnt.hu.nl/~pde/files/Files%2...0martin4.SLDPRT