Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest SaR

Presentations

Guest SaR

Hi there, thought I'd start a topic where we can post our advice on presenting designs/ideas to clients or at university. I myself am not very experienced with presentations so if any one has any tips and hints for delivering a winning presentation of my designs in both a group and individually please post here! I'm sure there are others out there who would benefit from this advice too!

:D

I have little experience as a student, but I want to give it a try. First, I believe that the kind of content depends on the complexity of the assignment and on which design stadium you are. I think it is quite usual that a design studio presents their work in different stadia. Between those presentations, they will get feedback from the client to work with. Lets say we are talking about the start of the design for a client.. the first presentation of your work. I think it's quite usual to show the 'briefing' of the client and to show your own 'interpretation of the assignment' (design vision). Also explaining 'methods', like design methodologies and users' research, is a common a thing to put in such a presentation. Then show them the design ideas, maybe 3 till 5 or more different concepts with the explanations or features. Finally tell your favorite concept and convince them why that one is the best. In some cases they agree with your chosen concept A, but they also like concept B. So sometimes it might be useful to combine concepts before they ask you to do it.

About how the ideas/concept should be presented? For the first presentation sketches/photoshop renderings should be clear enough to communicate your ideas. CAD illustrations/foam models/prototypes are things for the next presentations.

One more thing.. if the client ask you to do 3 concepts before the design process starts, then try to do 4 or more concepts to please them more.