Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest fnewallsmith

Portfolio Comments!

Guest fnewallsmith

Hi my name's Felix,

Currently i am studying Product Design at Bournemouth University.

Having just made an online portfolio for my third year placement i

thought i'd post it, to see if anyone has any comments on improvements?

It's a little unfinished at the moment.

http://www.transouth.co.uk/felix/welcome.htm

Thanks a lot!

Felix

Right off the bat: Get a better color scheme. The super bright green on white is extremely difficult to view not to mention very uneasy on the eyes.

If you are going to put your products as a PDF, I would suggest making sure you save the PDF so that it's a very small file (Use Indesigns 72 DPI web preset). While most people have broadband, waiting for a dozen megs of PDF's to load is usually something that is annoying and can be avoided when 500k worth of JPG's would do.

For the washing machine...you have the first portfolio I've ever seen to feature physics calculations. Frankly I would get rid of all of that. You can describe that as a skill in your resume but you don't need to show your work like it was a math test.

Get rid of the swastikas on the airplane rendering. If you want to show that you know how to texture a solidworks rendering do it with something a little less Nazi.

Guest fnewallsmith

Fair Comments,

Thank you very much! This has been a trial run for me.

Was going for an eye catching theme with the green but

it is hard to read.

Thanks again!

Felix

Guest mylesmontgomerydesign