Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Confused Chimp

3d Design Software Recommendations Please

Guest Confused Chimp

Hi all,

I'm new to all this, I've been sketching different things I design for many years, but now I would like to get some software to design and model 3D objects.

At the moment I am deisgning some furniture and would like to be able to design them on a computer, to be able to produce a plan with measurements etc on it. But also to be able to render a picture of the object, view it ans rotate it.

I'm not a student or proffesional, just an amateur having some fun.

If possible I'm looking for freeware.

Or cheap software, I can't afford much.

Cheers

CC

Guest Nathan

Also try Alibre. It's more 'CAD-like' than Sketch-up (e.g. has a feature-tree, constraints, parametrically-based etc.) and also free. It's lacking some boolean and other functions (at least it was a couple years ago) but it'll get you started.

You might also try Rhino as they have a free trial and are relatively inexpensive but offer some rendering options.

Guest Confused Chimp
Try Google Sketchup. It's very very basic but it's very easy to start off with and is free.

I've downloaded and installed Sketchup, which looks really good. Many thanks for the recommendation by the way.

I started watching the video tutorials, and it said that it is not a CAD program.

Now admittedly I'm new to this, but in what way is it not a CAD program? What the technical requirements for it to be classed as a CAD program?

cheers

CC

With a CAD program (like Rhino, Autocad, Solidworks) you can produce accurate technical drawings and models.

Sketchup lets you put dimensions, but certain fairly simple features (like making accurate curves) it can't do. It's good for making fast mockups of things, especially architectural type stuff, but doesn't have the more advanced features of a full fledged cad program.