Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest cprodesign

ID and ME

Guest cprodesign

Does anybody here can tell me how to set up a good relationship between the Industrial Designer and the Mechanical Engineer?

Any comments to the Integrated Product Development(iPD) ?

Marketing+ID+ME+Production=iPD?

Guest feesta

in school we had an IPD class that most of my friends took but i did not. The book they used was Creating Breakthrough Products (written by the professors). I heard it was a real drag but if you are looking for data and hard facts about it, get the book.

from my experience, both people have to try to find commonground and try to understand the other's perspective. As an industrial designer, I found it hard not to think the engineers are souless machines looking for the most efficient solution. I think it is all about communication and listening and keeping both parties involved in decision making.

Guest nextIR

what's up

my bachelor's is in ME (from florida a&m univ) and i'm getting my master's in ID (from the university of cincinnati). so, yep, ME and ID can coexist, quite happily. I think it takes an open mind on both parts of course.

it's funny ... i'm taking a couple of classes at UC's applied sciences college with a bunch of mechanical engineering technology students (the less theoretical, much more applied version of ME). it's kind of bizzare because i used to BE those guys. closed minded as can be, not open at all to new things are things they haven't been taught. they care very little about the environment or society it would seem. they know about making things work and the logistics of making them happen. they are less aware of the user, aesthetics, ergonomics, etc.