Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest jariellin

2d Line Work In Product Design

Guest jariellin

This qn might sound a little ridculous and ignorant.

I just wanna know if most designers just sketch a product on paper, scan the linework and trace over it in illustrator using paths,

OR, using a wacom, free-handedly do line work directly

Scott Robertson does that with his bicycles on his DVD..acts as a good guide. I don't have a tablet so can't comment too much, but I guess it depends on the type of work you are doing..quick sketching etc... either method, there r people that sit on either side of the fence on this question as talked about in other threads..but if you have good drawings skill, have a crack at the tablet, takes sometime from what i have seen and heard to become efficient

Both are valid methods. I've been using the tablet PC for about 2 months now and I've preferred doing the looser renderings in Alias sketchbook versus the tighter path/Photoshop technique. There are many different levels that you can take a render, you can be Harald Belker/Scott Robertson and be able to take a Photoshop render to CAD/Photo realistic quality, or you can get away with a sketch with some color thrown into it in Painter that works equally well.

Guest sixfish