Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Aqua98

About Product Sketch

Guest Aqua98

Hi everyone, I think this is a very good website for product design.... its wonderful.

I have some questions, hope somebody can help me to solve.

I'm a product design student, and I feel difficulties when I sketch a product. Let me

explain it further, for example, after I freedomly draw a form or shape, it looks like

a product or a thing. However, I can't draw different angles, such as side view, bad

view and top view. My teacher always blame me can't draw well as not in a completely

way. Hope someone tell me what should I do.

Thank you so much.

Here is one of my sketch.

Please comment on it. Hope someone teach me how to draw different angles.

116170556127093.jpg.jpg

Guest RobMay

Try uploading some examples of your sketch work, it'll give us a better insight into your problem.

Guest RobMay

you should try producing less "finished" looking sketches. Use less colour - only use colour to highlight or shade, don't colour in. And try being a bit more loose in ur sketching style.

Do you use any 3D design packages? These can help in understanding how a design will look from different angles.

Also, if you want to improve keep practising - if it doesn't look right then draw it again until you feel it does look right.

Check out the tutorials on this site, i'm sure there will be something that will help. If you see a style you like try to do similar but don't worry if it isn't exactly how you want it to be straight away - persevere!

Guest rsmiguel

Hi.

This sketch looks extremely primitive.

You should try first to sketch understanding the basic form and geometry of your product in order to get the right proportion and perspective. Forgett about putting color right now only use your pencil to sketch some basic highlights and shadows