Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest MKurban

What's Important In A Sketching Application?

Guest MKurban

I'm a software developer that's designing a sketching application.

It's intended to be a (humble) competitor to SketchBook PRO and/or Painter Essentials, but with the essential features in it.

I need a bit of help. Essentially, I need you to tell me what is it that you value the most in this apps. Also, if any of you uses the sketching functionality in Alias' Design Studio, I'd like you to give me some words on how it compares to SBPro.

What I grasp from having used SBPro for a while is: It is a simulation of a peace of paper and paint-like tools like pencils, brushes, ink fountains and the like. All on a framework of raster-only graphics. Tools should be "tweakable" and the user should able to add new ones (on the base of a user-provided bit-map). Is my view correct? Annotate it at will please.

Some additional questions I'd like you to answer are: What kind of resolutions are mostly used (Computer display-oriented(72dpi) or printer oriented(300+ dpi))?; How important are fancy features like filters and the like, which are found in more expensive packages?; What are your export needs (file formats, specific packages)? Do you need vector drawing features (lines, polygons, text, etc.)?

I will appreciate any further comments or pointers, specially since I'm not an experienced user of this kind of tools (I have used some 3D CAD and Animation packages though).

Thanks in advance for any help. Cheers,

Marcos

Guest sixfish

One HUGE capability is to be able to rotate the canvas as you sketch, as in Painter. This mimics the way a designer rotates his paper while creating sketches.

-sixfish