Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Telos

Vt Formula Racing Concept Rendering

Guest Telos

Hey Everyone,

This is my first post here. Just found this forum and I love everything I see. I got into doing car concept rednerings for fun about ten months ago. It all started with Husseindesign's rendering tutorial (which is awesome).

So, I'm a mechanical engineering student at Virginia Tech. One of my friends is on the formula racing team and asked me to do a concept rendering of their new car design. All I was given was a printout of the frame design and some specific things they wanted included. They're going to pitch this to the Lexus racing team to see if they can get funding from them. Anyway, it took me about 15 hours from pencil sketch to the final rendering. The reason it took so long is because they kept wanting to change things. Here's what i finally came up with:

formulaconcept2withbg.jpg

All my other rednerings can be found here:

http://filebox.vt.edu/users/talberi/art.htm

It's pretty easy to see the progression from my earlier work to my newest. I'm pretty happy with the progress I've made so far, but I know I still have a long way to go. I'm currently looking into getting into marker rednerings, so if anyone knows of a good set of markers to recommend or any good marker tutorials, it would be greatly appreciated.

Guest ScottieB

Nice sketch! Well worth the time. The top one is easier to understand the form for me

Guest cmegens

don't wish to repeat myself this much but: the perspective is off

Can we make a song with this line? maybe on Mc Hammer's "Can't touch this"? that would be a far nicer way to tell this

Guest Telos