Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest imorgan

Best Marker Pens?

Guest imorgan

Hello everyone. I'm new to the forum.

My name is Ian and I'm a product design student from england.

I'm really interested in getting some marker pens for rendering. I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good make and which colours I should purchase.

Thanks

See you around.

Ian

Guest jasonjupiter

copics for sure. even thought they may be a little more expensive than other markers keep in mind that they are refillable and each refill can refill 5 completely dry markers.

smell better, good blending, and the square design keeps them from rolling around all over the place =D

Most important is to get a set of grays and a black first. I have both Letraset Tria markers as well as Copics and it doesn't really matter which you chose. Copic markers I feel give your sketch more of a texture while the Letraset Tria markers cover more evenly.

For the copics I'd go for neutral gray, the copic cool greys are a bit too blue imo. For Tria, go for cool greys.

A set of 12 greys seems a bit much though if you're just starting. If you're going to buy them seperately, buy them with about 3 steps between, so for instance a N1, N4, N8 and a Black

Furthermore if you're going for colour, I prefer to take some variants of colours. If you want a nice red for instance, try to find a lighter and darker version of that same red.. I bought a sanguin red, together with a nice brown and orange.. This isn't necessary though, with the same marker you can achieve nice gradients as well by covering multiple times.

Avoid primary colours (pure red/yellow/blue) and go for more subtle ones. The very bright and strong colours are harder to mix nicely with your grays as shadows, especially the yellows.

Edit: just to clarify, I myself have about 30 markers now. I know it's not much, but I manage just fine and mostly colour digitally nowadays.