Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest The duke

The right direction

Guest The duke

Hi , I shall introduce my self as Martin Gilbert , or oyo (thats my design name).

I am a 27 year old designer, from LONDON England.

I have scanned the forums, and the work many people have put up, you guya are doing some great work, keep it up, its very important that pepole notice what Product / industrial design is about .

As most of the population on this planet still have no idea what product design is , you must project this when talking to people about your work, make it clear to them , and make sure they understand.

Upon leaving you university , please what ever you do make sure you get work experience, I can not express this enough, If you think you will just walk straight out of university / Design school and into a job your laughing.

Unless you win one of the big competitions, or are lucky, do not apply for jobs because you will not get them.

Work experience is the best way to go, you learn how a company works, how people function, you can not learn this at uni, and thats what some lecturers do not tell you, make lots of contacts before you leave uni, when you do leave you are no longer in a position of student visiting a design practice you are just another person looking for job.

Belive me its so important to nail down those contacts, they can help you sought out your portfolio, and they may give you work experience when you leave.

Make sure you invite all contacts made to your final year shows, and when you say you will call them, call them on the day, date, and on time.

There are still product design students in the uk who graduated five years ago, who are still looking for there first design job, there are many reasons for this , one is the above, and the others are the universitys / Schools, and design consultancys.

I will talk about this at a latter date.