Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Morecowbell001

Advice Needed For Hiring Design Freelancers

Hello-

I'm an aspiring entrepreneur/mechanical engineer looking to hire an Industrial Designer to come up with a few conceptual drawings of an office-related consumer product and ultimately a 3D rendering. I'll then use that rendering as a basis to crated the detailed manufactuing drawings and have several units manufactured myself.

I need to draft up a project description and post it on a freelance website (currently thinking about Elance). Unfortunately I don't yet understand Industrial Design "speak" or have much familiarity with what is reasonable to expect. What I was thinking about doing was posting the following for deliverables:

1. Need 3 or more conceptual, multi-view sketches in some electronic format (not sure what format is best)

2. After tweaks or updates are completed to the concepts, I'll choose one of them and will need a full 3D photorealistic rendering. The output of this should also be a model that is importable into Solidworks.

Please let me know how you think I can better describe this in language familiar to a designer. Additionally, please let me know what type of $$ I should be thinking about as my budget for this. I'd like to do it as a fixed price project (rather than hourly work) at least this first time. I'm starting out somewhat on the cheap (by that I'm mean I'm an individual not an established business), but I do want some quality work (over quantity) with a budget that isn't offensive (or too limiting) and later hope to use this person to develop several other versions if this works out.

Any other advice you have is much appreciated!

Thank you,

Kelly

Hello Kelly,

2 questions: