Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
eajslater

8 Furniture Concepts Prototyped In Garden Shed

Hello,

I would like to show a series of furniture and homewares concepts which I have built and prototyped full scale (1:1) in a garden shed throughout the last year-and-a-half.

I have been working as a freelance videographer for almost 2 years and the aim with this shed project was to try to prove my passion for design and make.

If anyone were to view this work or have any comments I would be extremely grateful.

Thank you

post-60018-0-47156300-1363525624_thumb.jpg

My furniture and homewares prototypes positioned outside the garden shed where they are made

post-60018-0-61696000-1363525513_thumb.jpg

Fully Clothed Shower

This coat stand concept aims to use the hung item as an object positioned to enhance and complete the
design. In this case the hung clothing item becomes the flow of water in what is surely now a
fully clothed
shower.

post-60018-0-05116800-1363525796_thumb.jpg

Tail For Balance

With the knowledge that in the animal kingdom a tail is used for balance (among other things), this stool
design draws its characteristics directly from this. When sat on, the stool gives the sitter a visible tail, but
additionally, the tail itself is a leg of the stool without which the sitter would
unbalance.

post-60018-0-19654900-1363525847_thumb.jpg

Bedside Stronghold

This bedside table design wants to help distinguish prized possessions from those which are less important.
To try to achieve this, the product design is connected with a source of inspiration – a castle stronghold.
With the table top resembling a castle stronghold – with moat, walls, arrow slit windows and a draw bridge –
the user knows instinctively to put a phone and wallet within the walls, and loose change and receipts in the
surrounding moat.

post-60018-0-95309700-1363525870_thumb.jpg

Secured Bedside