Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
JKoenig

Ergonomics: Digital Caliper

Hello, everyone.

This is my first post here. I am an industrial design student seeking some user feedback.

I am currently in an ergonomics class where I've been charged with designing a more ergonomic 6 inch digital caliper.

So, I need to find people who use digital calipers and find out what kind of problems/issues they have with their interactions. I thought this might be a good place to get that feedback since calipers are a common tool in this industry.

If anyone could give me their input on the subject of digital calipers, I would love to hear about what you like and what you don't like.

2 key things:

• The product MUST be digital. No analog/dial calipers. (The ergonomics of digital displays is an important concern)
  • I am not to change the way that the caliper takes measurements. (No modifying those parts that are typically metal)

Reference image to the exact type of tool in discussion:

http://www.northerntool.com/images/product/images/433301_lg.jpg

Thank you!

post-53544-0-65033900-1361917879.jpg

I used this tool sometimes, and perhaps you can consider about the size of the buttons and visibility of the display and even the storage solution. Perhaps larger buttons?

The handle is long and uncomfortable. The sharp edges of the handle are horrible because you have to fumble with it.

The positive is that they are extremely intuitive to use (excluding the depth piece, it sucks)