Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Cmcdaid

Macbook............................

Hi guys i am just looking for some advice as to what laptop to choose and what suits me best i was hoping you may have some advice. Basicially i am a product design student so will be running software such as Solidworks, Photoshop, illustrator, 3d studio max and other CAD and rendering programmes.

In my university i am surrounded by Mac's and am wondering is it a good decision to purchase the 15" what ive been told to go for (not sure what spec yet) is it the right laptop to go for taking into account what i have stated above? what laptops are you using espicially if running similar programmes i would be very gratefull to find out. Just incase you don't no these 15" range from around £1500-1800 .

Thanks in advance, all help appreciated!!!!

Hi Cmcdaid,

I just got my posting rights back after lengthy spell away and thought I'd answer question as I have a bit of direct experience here:

I studied PD in Brighton and for my final two years had a macbook pro.

First off, yes Macs of any kind are beautifully designed, an absolute pleasure to use and will make all your colleagues very jealous. However they lack a very important thing for studying product design at university in the UK, native support for Solidworks, Rhino and other programs commonly used at universities.

You can run http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1461 Bootcamp on your mac, which on the whole will run perfectly any Windows native CAD software. Although this is great, consider the following:

+ve

+ You can have the beautifully considered user experience of the Mac OS to do your general bits an pieces on (native run of adobe CS and MS Office for Mac) and then a pure CAD workstation on your Windows partition.