#1 MGPL

MGPL

Level 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 13 January 2012 - 09:22 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie designer in China and am producing some of my first plastic enclosures. As I've learnt from my previous enclosure project, in China, you need to be concise and leave no spaces undiscussed. I want my enclosure to have a texture although I don't know how to express my vision/specs to the manufacturer in words. I'm going for a normal noise-like texture which serves to cover up any tooling lines left around the ports, and it should not be glossy as i wouldn't want it to distract whoever's using it. The texture has to be ample to prevent greasy finger prints.

houses a display and electronics
Color: black
QTY: 1000PCEs to begin
Plastic: ABS (no idea, seemed like a safe choice)
Method: Injection molding
market: medium sized companies. Medical, technical, industrial, home

So, given all that. How do I express my needs to the manufacturer? Something like stipple texture of a depth of 0.127mm (0.005")?
What's commonly used for enclosures? What about the texture depth of the white and black parts on an Xbox controller?

ThanksPosted Image

#2 Cyberdemon

Cyberdemon

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,709 posts
  • At:Motorola Solutions

Posted 13 January 2012 - 04:41 PM

Textures are standardized because there are typically only a few places that do texturing, though there are several different processes. Mold-Tech is typically the global standard and they have the 11000 series of textures which is fairly common, but they have a whole range from very faint to very coarse. These textures are applied after the tooling is cut, typically by an acid etching process.