Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest pacho

Design Tablets

Guest pacho

Having been using a design tablet now for while and wondered whether any one else had any coments on their performance compared to sketch pads and markers.

Thanks.....

Pacho

Guest JayVee
what do they do?

I'm assuming pacho means the 'graphics tablets' that you plug into computers to draw on screen, much like pen and paper.

I'm still very much in the learner stages of using a tablet - I haven’t actually bought one myself yet, I still *cough* "borrow" *cough* my girlfriends when I fancy a go. I still really struggle with them to be honest, but this would probably become more natural over a period of time. But, for the time being, I still prefer to draw on paper (pencil, biro, markers) and then scan the images into the computer, then manipulate them from there.

Guest DreaM

well, i have had a lot of experiences during the last year about graphic tablets. I used Wacon Cintiq which was amazing actually . To be able draw on the screen directly is amazing... I used to have it at work , but now i am off that place so i bought one for myself, not cintiz of course... It is intuos 3 and actually it is good enough. Also like a mouse it is comfortable. But still i would prefer to start on a piece of paper and then scan and work on it with tablet. Otherwise it is so artificial.........

Which ones do you use people ? I have A5 and it's not small, for me it's big enough to illustrate....

:P

Guest nate

hey - just bought an intous 2 6x8 - it's very different - but from what i've heard it takes about a week to get used to it.

got it for $229 Australian

I had a cheap tablet for years now and still I did not get the hang of it.

I would say its pretty hard to get use to.

Try get the biggest size you can. If its too small it is hard to produce accurate lines.

But yeah once you get the hang of it, should be pretty flexible to edit/undo and all that.

Guest kinvent