#1 ZexeL

ZexeL

Level 1

• Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Posted 06 December 2011 - 02:59 PM

Hi all!
For my following question I'd like it if only professional active designers answered, I know this may sound harsh or like I'm being overly selective, but hear me out.

I'm studying design at University level in Sweden, right now we're taking courses involving "Materials Science & Engineering", "Production Engineering" etc. Now, this sounds fine, at least it did to me when I first found out we were taking these classes, but the professors go into such detail and down to atomic level, it feels more like I'm taking chemistry or advanced math/engineering than design. A few classes ago the professor was discussing "cutting angles of lathe blades".
The only explanation to why we are taking courses that go into these subjects we've received is: "it's good for you to have an idea about these things". I do agree with this to some extent, but I'd rather put time into courses in 3D rendering, model building, advanced hand sketching/rendering etc.
I might be approaching this all wrong, so that's why I'm posting this as a question to you active professionals out there: Do you as active designers calculate cutting angles, decide what kind of alloys to use, discuss what type of beams to use and what thickness the steel should be?

As I said, since I do not know how a designer in the field works nowadays, I'm asking you.

Thankful for answers.

Best Regards,
ZexeL
  • Carogresiates and Kallersoliolf like this

#2 Cpt_Mar

Cpt_Mar

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Interests:Interested in industrial design, manufacturing technologies & web development.
  • At:IPT

Posted 06 December 2011 - 05:33 PM

Hi ZexeL,

the main reason why it is so important to have an appropriate background in fundamentals of engineering is simple.

A designer is mainly one of the first entities in the product development chain.