Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Adai

Portfolio For A Recent Grad / Mechanical Engineer?

Hello,

I graduated ~ one year ago w/ a BS from UMassAmherst. I did my undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering, but most of my out of classroom experience was w/ IT.

My goal is to gain an internship or apprenticeship / entry level position w/ a design firm. I have a portfolio here: http://www.coroflot.com/aaimua

I am currently working at a startup in a design and project managing capacity, and I perform testing on part samples as well. But I want to do more along the lines of large scale design work.

What are some of the things that I can do to boost and organize my portfolio? Is it acceptable to post extracurricular projects, or updates to senior capstone work?

I didn't do a lot of design work when I was in IT, and now I have some very limited mechanical mounting work that I do. How can I gain more experience on the side?

What is your degree in? For an engineer, I think it's fine. But if you want to do any type of design work, you need to improve both your process, and your sketching. Your sketching is basically chicken scratches, unorganized (you just scanned the paper, no layout whatsoever), etc. Try learning about lineweight, layouts, and contrast. That will help immensely. Also, design is not just "here's a sketch, and here's the prototype". It is a process. You need to start with rough smaller sketches, and move on to more detailed sketches, then go into CAD. Speaking of which, do not just take screenshots of your model @ screen resolution. Render them using photoworks or keyshot. And from now on, FOREVER, TURN ON PERSPECTIVE. Nothing turns me off more from someone's portfolio than looking at a CAD file in isometric.

Good luck! The physical prototypes are great, and you should probably try to get better photos of them. :)

Thanks for your input!