• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 rj9

rj9

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 03:23 PM

I originally posted the following on "General education & career related discussions" board but didn't receive any replays, I hope me posting this in the "Design discussions" board is isn't frowned upon

So I have been applying for a placement for a few months with no outstanding success (note: minimum total of 36 weeks total between 2nd and 3rd year of university degree).
In my unbiased opinion Iím in the top quarter of my class and I have a really strong portfolio. Not to mention Iím Solidworks certified, I have a wealth of experience in different minimal wage jobs and I believe I have no problems in communicating myself. All of this aside Iíve applied to every product design/industrial design placement/intern position I have found. Often Iím notified of my advancement through the recruitment process, called by companies to further explain the position and what is required and Iíve also had several interviews. The only reason I believe I have been unable to properly secure anything is the lack of positions I have been able to find. I feel I have exhausted Google searches, and the jobs posted on here and other similar sites such as Coroflot just seem to becoming less and less frequent. I know other students are struggling as only around 10% of students on my course have been successful in securing something for longer than the summer.
Note: I have recently secured some work for a small company doing a combination of design and modelling but the work is infrequent, unpaid and thereís no guarantee it will last for longer than the summer (I require 36 weeks minimum). Therefore Iím just as keen to find something as before.