Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
JenJaw

Portfolio For University

I am applying to uni in the UK For product and industrial design and I am doing a Foundation diploma at the moment which is the first time I have art/design since I was 14 (now nearly 19) so all my work is self initiated or work from my current brief for my course.

I really want my portfolio to be as good as I can get it because I cant wait to design for a living :)

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You!

LINK: http://jenniferwatling.carbonmade.com/projects/3019473#1

(Formatted For print A3 sized)

its always difficult to give a feedback on portfolios for universities

do you know what the university is requiring you to show ?

different universities, have different requirements

it also helps if you have a look at portfolios which were successful

maybe you can even meet a professor from the university, ask him whats important for them

Thanks for your help :)

I had an email from one place saying: "around 20 pieces of work in your portfolio, which might include examples of your drawing, use of colour, 2D and 3D work and anything related to the subject you are applying for. Photographs of larger or fragile work are acceptable instead of carrying everything with you! Please also include a piece of your recent written work and sketchbooks that show how you think and develop ideas." and another one has portfolio advice on the website: http://www.ntu.ac.uk/adbe/document_uploads/94891.pdf

I tried to match what they want to see and I have weekly feedback sessions from my tutor as well as looking through coroflot portfolios from people at the Uni's.

To be honest I find the more feedback I get the better I can make it.

I was also wondering what you think of the idea's? I know they could be more original, but of what I have done, I worked through in my own way to develop the products in my own style (if that makes sense).