Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest G^e

Designer Existentialism

Guest G^e

Hello,

I’ve recently subscribed to this forum and this is my first post. It is not the lightest way to start but I’m just going to go for it.

I feel there is a subject missing amongst all the discussion on this forum which perhaps is less glamorous than fun design talk. It is the subject of doubt in our purpose as designers.

I’ve been a professional industrial designer (so they tell me) for more than 12 years. I’m a senior designer for a consultancy and I take charge of a lot of aspect of our project. A lot more than once should.

There are a lot of great things I like about industrial design, product design, product development, etc…, you pick what fits, but I’m growing really tired of the industry, its abuse, its lack of trust and beliefs in the power of creativity, its dishonesty, its lack of understanding as to what it really takes to make quality design as if ones just got talent or not. And by the way if he does you can pay him hardly nothing because he’ll do it fast. And if he does not you can pay him hardly anything because he is not worth more. I’m also becoming mentally frustrated by the over-consumption mentality taking the precedent over the human quality of life.

I’m extremely good in many areas of my work and by far surpassing my client ability to lead product development but I often find myself depressed as I look at what becomes of my work, to what point it is respected, in the ways it is manipulated, and even from the way the design culture is evaluating itself in its self-righteous award winning ignorant culture like business week design award squandering the talent ability of too many designers through their narrow view of design.

I must add that the only way I know to design meaningfully is to put my entire self into what I do and it drains me dry.