- - - - -

Can Anyone Be Taught To Sketch In 3d?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_amoncur_*

Guest_amoncur_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 December 2010 - 06:08 AM

I'm an engineer, and see the value in being able to sketch in 3D. It makes the product development process so much quicker if you can decouple design from CAD, and being able to sketch in 3D, I believe, does that. So here's my question to all you designers our there (both the ID guys and the engineers): do you think anyone can be taught to sketch in 3D? I'm not talking about an artist-level proficiency, but enough so that one could sketch out concepts in 3D before taking the time to do it in CAD. What do you think? Do you "need to be born with it"? Or is it a skill that can be learned in a reasonable amount of time (define that for yourself) by most people of reasonable skill (again, define that one for yourself)?

#2 advancedboy

advancedboy

Top Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 738 posts
  • Interests:Cars, aviation, science, US, nature, space, etc.

Posted 14 December 2010 - 09:15 AM

`You can blow out a candle, but you can`t blow out a fire, once the flame catches on, it gets higher and higher`( Peter Gabriel, `Biko`). You can study anything, but it is like throwing wood into fire, it can grow, if there is a flame. But the flame must come from within.

#3 Bwaugh

Bwaugh

Level 4

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • At:Bradford Waugh Design

Posted 14 December 2010 - 03:36 PM

Pure and simple, yes! The bigger question is can you see the item in your head before you draw it? Drawing in 3D can definitely be trained.

#4 Guest_Shift1313_*

Guest_Shift1313_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 December 2010 - 04:01 PM