Product Design Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Guest kat kinkead

I'm A Student That Has Hit A Creative Block, How Can I Overcome This?

Guest kat kinkead

Hey there guys, I've been lurking around the discussions here for quite some time just as an admirer. I go to school for product design, and I seem to have hit a creative standstill on a project I'm working on. Can anybody give me some suggestions on how to overcome this? What do you guys do when this happens? I need to work my way back out of the box!!!

Please! :) hope to hear back

Guest Karl Baxter

I would do a couple of things. I would just try doodling around the idea or project without really trying to think about it too much, but only for a short while. Or, depending on the time frame, just leave it alone for a couple of days, watch some movies and play table tennis. I feel if it is a creative block, rather than a technical or practical block trying to force it is somewhat futile.

try doing an image search of existing designs, sometimes you will see some elements that you find interesting and that may spark some new ideas.

I am by no means saying to copy anything, as that doesn't develop your skills as a designer. However by putting up existing designs on a wall it not only serves as a bit of market research, but it also helps you to identify the shortcomings of current products which almost always sparks new ideas.

Good luck with your project!

Guest Bj.R

Sometimes funny games can help too. Pick a random animal and draw a product like that animal would use it. How would it be in space? Also, exagerating certain elements in a drawing can help too.

Good luck!

Guest nicanor

Talk to classmates about your project, maybe their insight will spark a new direction/idea. Talking with other designers is always a good thing. Take advantage of how many designers (classmates) are in your area while in school, when you graduate you'll never have the same amount of opportunity anymore.