- - - - -

Concept Sports Cruiser

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_drnewbury_*

Guest_drnewbury_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 May 2010 - 03:23 PM

While my last design is being printed on a 3d printer I am designing a boat for my final semester project.

All the sketches were done with bic crystal pens and the render was done in photoshop.
The boat's brief is for a trailerable boat that can be legally towed with the maximization of usable deck and cabin space.

I am modeling the design in catia.
Rather tough as I have had no experience with parametric surfacing tools.
Have any of you had any experience with catia's surfacing tools or have any advice on great sources of training materials?

I am contemplating purchasing these tutorials, however they do not cover the "Automotive Class A" workbench in catia and I have a feeling I may need those tools to achieve surfaces like these.

These tutorials are awesome in case anyone is looking for surfacing tutorials for catia:
http://adam.theohern...08/04/v5-sweep/

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#2 Guest_lokilabs_*

Guest_lokilabs_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 May 2010 - 06:51 PM

Interesting design....just a technical question...wouldnt you want the engine compartment below the water line? the boat seems a little high out of the water which is throwing me off.

#3 Cyberdemon

Cyberdemon

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,709 posts
  • At:Motorola Solutions

Posted 24 May 2010 - 09:17 PM

Would almost want to see some dimensions because your proportions seem fairly confusing at the moment. The scale of different elements (stairs vs seat, etc) plus having that trailerable seems a bit in conflict.

#4 Guest_drnewbury_*

Guest_drnewbury_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 May 2010 - 04:46 AM

Yeah that sounds like you might be right, I have been receiving similar feedback from a number of ppl.
Every time I check my dimensions and scale things seem correct but the designs to look quite far off.