Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest tede

Rhino Rail Revolve In Alias

Hmm I would have to look at a copy of Rhino to see, but any time I hear "rail" I would say you should be able to do whatever it is as a bi-rail of some variation?

If you can post a screenshot of what you're trying to achieve I can tell you how to do it...don't have both packages installed anymore.

Guest tede

Here is an example of the rail revolve tool,

In alias, I have so far been creating a 4 sided surface, then grabbing the last set of points at each end and placing them all in the same place. But this requires alot of manual point manip....

the second image attached, is a rhino command called set point. this way i can align a certain set of points, i can planarize them.

How can i do this in Alias?!?!

As you can tell im new to alias.......

Thanks for your help

tim

post-1307-1259031946.jpg

post-1307-1259032025.jpg

Guest tede
Here is an example of the rail revolve tool,

In alias, I have so far been creating a 4 sided surface, then grabbing the last set of points at each end and placing them all in the same place. But this requires alot of manual point manip....

the second image attached, is a rhino command called set point. this way i can align a certain set of points, i can planarize them.

How can i do this in Alias?!?!

As you can tell im new to alias.......

Thanks for your help

tim

Well i worked out the rail revolve issue. kinda. It was possible to do with a rail surface, 2 generation curves and a rail curve, these curves came from surfaces. but it was more of a revolve than a true rail revolve. I had to then place all the points in the corner.

still havent worked out the xyz snapping, somethign to do with alt + RMB / LMB but the affect changes if you select hulls and CV's still working on this.