Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Zaqintosh

Which 3d Software To Start Learning First?

Guest Zaqintosh

Hi all,

I've basically just started to get interested in Industrial Design (product design), it isn't my career right now, but I feel it complements my current profession quite well (I am a software UI designer, with a background in software development), and ID might be relevant in a future hybrid role one day (design firm like IDEO).

As a starting point, I've been trying to improve my 2D pencil / pen drawing skills (I'm actually taking a drafting course), but I'll soon look to learning a 3D CAD software as well.

Could someone explain the differences (cons, pros, when or why each is used) between AutoCAD, Rhino, and SolidWorks? I've heard terms used to describe different modeling styles of SolidWorks, but I don't quite understand what the terminology means.

As a beginner interested in product design, what should I learn first?

Are all IDs expected to know both AutoCAD and SolidWorks? If you know how to use one, is it a no-brainer using the other?

What about other 3d modeling software like Blender, Maya, 3dsmax, google sketch-up ?

Thanks!

Guest JD Mather
Could someone explain the differences (cons, pros, when or why each is used) between AutoCAD, Rhino, and SolidWorks?

Are all IDs expected to know both AutoCAD and SolidWorks? If you know how to use one, is it a no-brainer using the other?

Geometry is geometry, so learning one should make the next one easier. I say "should", but what I see often happen (actually usually happen) is that users get hooked on what ever they learn first and then have trouble fighting any other application.

There is some differences as far as solids, surfaces, faceting but principles the same.