Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest AutomóvilVerde

Illustrator Or Photoshop?

Guest AutomóvilVerde

I'm kinda new to the whole designing thing, so I was just wondering which is best for scanning sketches, and editing them. And for drawing on the computer, because my dad was saying something about on illustrator you can mirror one side too the other.

Guest odd_concept

You can scan in both. It is usually done by the scanner utility(It is an import). But you will only be able to clean up the scan in photoshop. You can however, trace it in illustrator. I say photoshop.

Photoshop: easier to get photorealistic results. Brushes and other tools more intuitive.

Illustrator: Harder to get realistic results. But if you manage to make nice vector image it can be enlarged(or shrunk) to any size you want (The benefits of vectors)

If you are new to this, I definately say photoshop.

Guest AutomóvilVerde

Good cause I don't know how to use Illustrator, but what's a vector?

Guest odd_concept

Photoshop: Bitmap

Illustrator: Vector

Bitmap: is actual pixels so when you resize something you make the pixels bigger or smaller. So reducing size is usually not a problem but increasing size is.

Vector: The computer uses mathematical formulas for all the lines and fills, thus allowing you to take a small vector image and make it the size of a billboard and the lines will still be perfect.

This is a pretty simple explanation, but read the link below for a little more info.

http://www.adobe.com/education/webtech/CS2...b_bitmap_id.htm

Hope this helps!

Guest odd_concept

Not necessarily, you should though start of with Photoshop and as you learn more you will see some of the benefits of Illustrator.

Good Luck!

Guest Austin Brown