Product Design Forums

Treasurebox
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Dugan

Specific Portfolio Question About Background For Pages

Guest Dugan

Hi all, I'm Dugan and I've been working as a Design Engineer (ME degree) for about 8 years now. I'm applying for a grad school program in product development and I have to put together a real portfolio. The only "portfolios" I've made before were mainly engineering oriented and used to get my first job in product design. Now I've got plenty of designs in the field and I need to make a real portfolio to showcase my design abilities, as opposed to my engineering experience.

Okay, my specific question....Is it bad to have a coloroed background for pages showing your designs? I've noticed that almost everyone uses plain white backgrounds for their portfolios. I've also noticed that one of the most common compliments is "very clean looking", which leads me to believe that it's probably something important to have it be "simple/clean" looking. Here's an example of a page from what I've done so far on my portfolio and it has a gradient background

Should I ditch the gradient and lay it out more like I have my sketch pages laid out here?

Please forgive my sad sketching skills. I'm an enginerd not an art guy.

Thanks for any advice!

-Dugan

Guest Dugan

Thanks for the input, and for taking the time to take a look at the rest of pages.

Yeah, I was going to ditch the red.

Guest Grafox

The gradient background is fine, although it I suggest working on the main composition of the images and the text. Look through some design magazines and see how they present products and how the text is alligned to the images. Also, I suggest having a similair layout on each page, that is part of the "clean" look I think.

Good luck!

Guest Buff